Rehberg triumphant in write-in race for District 1 aldermanic seat

With a total of 179 write-in votes cast in the write-in race for the District 1 aldermanic seat, newcomer Hoss Rehberg was triumphant with 102 votes.

The race was between incumbent Jerry Anderson – who earlier had filed non-candidacy papers only to change his mind when he filed as a write-in candidate on Feb. 4 – and Rehberg, who filed his intent to run as a write-in on Feb. 1.

Anderson received 77 of the 179 votes.


School board seats new member, keeps incumbent – both ran unopposed

The Elkhorn Area School District saw incumbent Carol Burton garner 1,460 votes and board newcomer Daniel Thompson collect 1,374 votes.

Both candidates ran unopposed. Thompson will assume the seat held by long-term School Board member Wendy Carlson who was honored at the Feb. 25 board meeting for having completed 25 years of service.

Burton has served as a board member for nine years.

When asked in an earlier interview why he wanted to serve on the board, Thompson replied, “I’m looking forward to helping maintain the quality of our educational system.” He has two children who are students in the district.

Common Council retains incumbents who ran unopposed

In District 2, incumbent council member Gary Payson collected 134 votes, while in District 5, incumbent council member Kimberly DeHaan received 123 votes. Both ran unopposed.

DeHaan will be beginning her third two-year term, while Payson will be starting his second consecutive term, after having previously served as an alderman.


No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment