Shown at a recent rehearsal for Monday’s One Act play contest at Elkhorn Area High School are: Bailey Buchman, Cade Fischer and Madelyn Kleist (behind the box.) They’ll help represent the Class of 2021 in the contest; whichever class gets the most Peoples Choice votes will earn homecoming points for their respective class. (Submitted photo)

The Battle of the Thespians, a One Act play contest, will kick off homecoming week at Elkhorn Area High School and attendees will cast People’s Choice votes with the winner earning points for their class.

The contest, sponsored by the EAHS Drama department and Fine Arts Boosters, will take place from 6 to 9 p.m., tonight, Oct. 7 at the high school. The cost is $5 for adults, $3 for students.

The One Acts were a standing tradition about 30 years ago and EAHS decided to bring it back this year. Each class will perform a 25 to 30 minute production, all led by students.

Each class has a teacher advisor, but the classes each chose a director, producer, and show. They held auditions, we set up a rehearsal schedule, and they have done their own scenic design, costume design, lighting, sound, and blocking. Planning began in May and more work took place over the summer.

The Fine Arts Boosters is a community/parent group that welcomes new members and was formed last year to support the arts programs at Elkhorn High School. The organization will contribute judges and awards.

“Our students are very excited about this friendly class competition, and it is great to have even more student involvement in our homecoming festivities week,” Lisa Dettmann-Webb said.

In a special shout-out, all theater alumni are encouraged to attend the Oct. 7 event.

“It would be great to see everyone come ‘home’ to the James A. Wehner Auditorium,” Dettmann-Webb said.

Performances at the One Act play contest will include:

  • The Freshman Class of 2023, performing Ian McWethy & Carrie McCrossen’s comedy, “This is Your Brain on Social Media”;
  • The Sophomore Class of 2022, performing Jonathan Rand’s comedy “Check Please”;
  • The Junior Class of 2021, performing, Don Zolidis’ comedy, “The Brothers Grimm Spectaculathon”;
  • The Senior Class of 2020, performing Ian McWethy’s comedy, “The 7 Worst Breakups of All Time.”

All productions are through special arrangement with Playscripts, Inc.

In addition to People’s Choice, judges will award the following: Best Actor in a Female Lead; Best Actor in a Male Lead; Best Supporting Actor – Female Role; Best Supporting Actor – Male Role; Best Director; Best Producer; Best Production.


No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment