By Vicky Wedig

SLN Staff

On the ballot for Walworth County voters Tuesday are four state offices, three Congressional races, nine state Legislature seats, two uncontested county posts and 11 municipal or school district referenda.

Polls are open until 8 p.m. Voters can find polling places and other specifics regarding the election by contacting their municipal clerk or visiting

Check back here after polls close for results from the local races.

The state’s top post is up for election with Republic candidates Scott Walker and Rebecca Kleefisch seeking re-election as governor and lieutenant governor against Democratic challengers Tony Evers and Mandela Barnes. Also on the ballot are Libertarian candidates Phillip Anderson and Patrick Baird, Green party candidates Michael J. White and Tiffany Anderson, Independents Maggie Turnbull and Wil Losch and Workers Party candidate Arnie Enz who is running without a lieutenant governor candidate.

The state attorney general post is also up for election with Republican candidate Brad Schimel running against Democrat Josh Kaul and Conservative Party candidate Terry Larson.

On the ballot for secretary of state are Republican Jay Schroeder and Democrat Doug Lafollette.

Running for state treasurer are Republican Travis Hartwig, Democrat Sarah Godlewski and conservative Andrew Zuelke.

Other races on the ballot in Walworth County are the following U.S. and state senate and assembly seats, county races and referenda:


Running for U.S. Senate are Republican Leah Vukmir and incumbent Democrat Tammy Baldwin. For U.S. Assembly seats, Republican Bryan Steil is facing Democrat Randy Bryce and Independent Ken Yorgan in District 1. In District 5, Republican F. James Sensenbrenner is seeking election against Democrat Tom Palzewicz.

State Legislature

Two state Senate seats are unopposed. In District 11, Republican Steve Nass is unchallenged, and, in District 15, Democrat Janis Ring is the lone candidate.

In state Senate District 21, Republic Van H. Wanggaard is running against Democrat Lori Hawkins.

In Assembly District 31, Republican Amy Loudenbeck and Democrat Brittany Keyes are on the ballot.

Republican Tyler August is being challenged by Democrat Katherine Gaulke in the 32nd District.

In District 33, Republican Cody Horlacher is facing Democrat Brandon White.

In District 43, Republican Gabriel Szerlong and Democrat Don Vruwink are on the ballot.

Republican Robin Vos and Democrat Joel Jacobsen are vying for the 63rd District seat, and Republican Chuck Wichgers and Democrat Jim Brownlow are running for the 83rd District seat.

County offices

Both county offices on the ballot are uncontested. Republicans Kurt Picknell and Kristina Secord are running opposed to retain their seats as sheriff and clerk of circuit court, respectively.


Five municipal referenda and six school district referenda are on Tuesday’s ballot countywide. A dark store advisory referendum (see Section 2) is on the ballot countywide, and the towns of Delavan and Sugar Creek and village of Bloomfield and Darien have referenda on the ballot.

School district seeking voter approval of additional expenditures are the Burlington Area School District, the Delavan-Darien School District, the Whitewater Unified School District, the Williams Bay School District and Big Foot Union High School, which has two referendum questions on the ballot.

See this website and Southern Lakes Newspapers’ publications for breakout stories of elections and referendums on the ballot.



No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment