Longtime School Board member hangs up hat

By Tracy Ouellette

SLN Staff

East Troy School Board Treasurer and longtime member Martha Bresler is not running for re-election in April.

“It’s been nine years added to the 34 I taught in East Troy and the 43 total years as a teacher and it’s time,” Bresler said Wednesday morning. “I’m going to miss it because the district means so much to me but I feel the board has really come together and I’m glad I’m leaving on such a high note.

“It almost makes it harder to walk away now. I wish them all the best and I plan on staying involved with the schools.”

School Board member Sue Frohling has also filed papers of non-candidacy for the April 3 election, which means newcomers Tony Barrett and Jessica Fuchs will run unopposed in the spring election.

Village of East Troy

In the Village of East Troy board race Trustee John Alexander has filed papers to run for the remaining one year on the term he was appointed to this year when board President Scott Seager won both a trustee seat and the president’s seat in 2017. Alexander is running unopposed.

The three full-term (two years) open village trustee seats have five candidates – incumbents Matt Johnson and Fortune Renucci, along with Police Chief Alan Boyes who is retiring Friday, Jim Holm and Jonna Foelich. No primary will be necessary for the Village Board race.

County Board

The Walworth County Board members are up for re-election in spring. In the East Troy area, incumbent Randy Timms is being challenged by former County Board member Rick Stacey for District 1. District 1 serves the Village of East Troy, the towns of Troy and East Troy and part of the Village of Mukwonago.

In District 2, William Norem is running unopposed. District 2 serves the towns of LaFayette, Lyons, Spring Prairie and Troy and part of the City of Burlington.


No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment