School District, Village Board seats up for spring election

By Tracy Ouellette

SLN Staff

Residents interested in entering the field of local politics have an opportunity to do so with the upcoming April 3 spring election.

The East Troy Community School District has two seats up for election in 2018, those currently held by board members Martha Bresler and Sue Frohling. School Board terms are for three years and residents in the district, which includes the Village and Town of East Troy, Town of Troy, and parts of the Town of LaFayette, Town of Spring Prairie, Town of Eagle, Town of LaGrange and the Village of Mukwonago.

The Village of East Troy has four seats on the ballot in April – three for full two-year terms and one for the remaining one-year of the term originally won by Village Board President Scott Seager this year. Trustee John Alexander was appointed to that seat after Seager won both the president’s seat and a trustee seat.

“The candidates will have to make a choice as to which term they want to run for, the one-year term or the full two-year terms,” Village Administrator Eileen Suhm said.

The village seats up for election are held by Alexander, Matt Johnson, Ann Zess and Fortune Renucci.

Zess is not seeking re-election as she and her husband, Ted Zess, are moving to East Troy Township this month. Her last Village Board meeting will be Dec. 18. Seager said Zess’s seat will not be filled by appointment as the spring election is “so close.”

Candidates could begin circulating nomination papers as of Dec. 1 and have until Jan. 2 to declare their candidacy and file their paperwork.

Incumbents choosing to not run for re-election are required to file papers of non-candidacy by Dec. 22.

If a primary election is needed, it will be held Feb. 20. A primary would be needed in the School Board election if more than four candidates run for the two open seats.

A primary would be needed in the village if more than two candidates run for the open one-year term and/or if more than six candidates run for the three open two-year terms.

Nomination papers, declarations of candidacy and more information on the local elections are available at:

  • East Troy Village Hall, 2015 Energy Drive, 262- 642-6255;
  • East Troy Community School District Offices, 2040 Beulah Ave., 262-642-6710.

No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment