New officers inducted into Whitewater High School’s National Honor Society included James Dedrick as president, Casey Skindingsrude as vice president, Allison Heckert as secretary and and Dalton Chenoweth as treasurer. (Tom Ganser photo)


By Tom Ganser

SLN Correspondent

The induction of six Whitewater High School seniors and 25 juniors into the Minneiska Chapter of the National Honor Society, established in 1956, focused the spotlight on a tradition that spans 61 years and two generations of Whitewater High School students recognized by their teachers not only for their scholarship, but also for their character, leadership and service.

The seniors inducted into National Honor Society this year on Nov. 29 included Declin Anderson, Clarice Bergman, Alexa Du Clos, Miriam Navejas, Bryce Parrish, and McKenna Riley.

The juniors added to the ranks of the Minneiska Chapter included Chelsea Baker, Zachary Brantmeier, Madison Brown, Sierra Brunner, Madelynne Elworthy, Jaden Henneman, Sara Johnson, Cally Julson, Katherine Kuhtz, Nicholas Kuzoff, Natalie LaBreche, Weston Lema, Alisha Parboteeah, Maci Parrish, Dylan Pease, Brittany Ramirez, Lizbeth Rodriguez, Nicole Sedmak, Emma Sellnow, Nicole Tomomitsu, Sydney Treder, Daniel Trost, Dalia Velazquez, Hayden West and Catherine Yang.

In welcoming the audience to the induction ceremony in the WHS auditorium,           “Your hard work and persistence has paid off. The Whitewater High School community is very proud of you all,” said Assistant Principal Nathan O’Shaughnessy, who was introduced to the gathering by a student as “The Big O,” “O Shag,” “Oh My Gosh” and “Oly Moly.” “It is an honor to be in the company of so many talented individuals. You’re being commended for your success inside and outside of the classroom, for your hard work, and for your commitment to helping others in the community and at school.”

For more on the induction, pick up a copy of the Dec. 7 edition of the Whitewater Register.


No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment