By Dan Truttschel


Six members of the East Troy girls volleyball team recently were named to All-Rock Valley Conference squads following a coaches’ vote.

Three girls – senior Katie Zewiske (outside hitter) and juniors Brianna Scuric (outside hitter) and Mati Jakscht (libero) – were named to the first team. Freshman right-side hitter Katie Winkler was a second-team selection, while junior Isabelle Martino nd sophomore Emily Wendt were named honorable mention.

Scuric led the team with 388 kills and was second in digs with 299. She also had 41 aces and 22 blocks.

“She had an outstanding season,” East Troy coach Scott Nagorski said. “She was our go-to hitter on offense, played solid defense, was one of our main serve-receivers and also served very well. I felt that her stats were worthy of her earning Player of the Year in the conference, but she lost out in a very close vote.”

Jakscht had a team-high 437 digs and added 40 aces, while Zewiske had 166 kills, 33 aces and 190 digs.

“(Jakscht) also had an outstanding season,” Nagorski said. “As our librero, she ran our defense, and her work in that area gave a tremendous boost to our transition game. She was also our primary serve-receiver and performed very well in that area. She has a strong serve, which allowed us to get on runs.”

Zewiske not only excelled on the court but in her role as a team leader, Nagorski said.

“Katie also had a strong season,” he said. “As good as her play was on the court, it’s her personality in the role of captain that will be sorely missed. She was intense, but had a way of knowing how to lighten a mood so the team could all relax and play our game. She was also a primary passer and strong server.”

Winkler was second in blocks with 41 and also had 200 kills and 61 digs, while Martino led the way with 560 assists and added 176 kills, 44 aces, 22 blocks and 228 digs. Wendt was second in assists with 523 and first in aces with 51. She also had 180 digs.

With five of the six All-RVC selections back next year, there is already excitement in the air for what the Trojans could accomplish in 2018, Nagorski said.

“It is very exciting, but also brings high expectations with it,” he said. “Since the team that we lost to in the sectional semifinals (Lakeside Lutheran) went on to win state, with all of this talent returning, we feel it is a realistic expectation of us to go state ourselves.”

Nagorski added that his first year, which included that loss in a five-set thriller to Lakeside Lutheran, was a successful one on many levels.

“The first season went well,” he said. “Once we all became comfortable with each other, we were able to do some very good things. Winning the Westosha Smash, (going) undefeated in conference, a regional championship and a very exciting match in the sectional semifinal made for a very satisfying season.”

All-Rock Valley Conference

Volleyball Teams

First team – Ashlyn Oren (sr., outside hitter, Edgerton), Brianna Scuric (jr., outside hitter, East Troy), Abbey Johnson (jr., setter/outside hitter, Brodhead), Sophie Quelle (sr., libero, McFarland), Kampbell Hehr (jr., setter, Big Foot), Katie Rounds (sr., outside hitter, McFarland), Mati Jakscht (jr., libero, East Troy), Cassidy Spies (so., outside hitter, Jefferson), Katie Zewiske (sr., outside hitter, East Troy).

Second team – Bethany Oren (sr., middle blocker, Edgerton), Ashley East (jr., right-side hitter, McFarland), Caitlin Knudson (sr., outside hitter, Evanville), Emme Bullis (fr., outside hitter, Whitewater), Katie Winkler (fr., right-side hitter, East Troy), Alison Hauser (jr., middle blocker, Jefferson), Sophia Foster (jr., utility, Big Foot), Jessica Danks (sr., setter, Edgerton), Samantha Kessenich (sr., outside hitter, Evansville).

Honorable Mention – Big Foot: Abby Peterson (jr.), Reagan Courier (so.); Brodhead: Chandra Clark (sr.), Brooke Bescup (sr.); Clinton: Nicole Chrislaw (sr.), Molly Kemp (jr.); East Troy: Isabelle Martino (jr.), Emily Wendt (so.); Evansville: Trisha Louis (sr.), Jaida Kroning (sr.); Edgerton: Nakkia Johnson (sr.), Carly Rebman (fr.); Jefferson: Karli Johnson (so.), Parker Biwer (so.); McFarland: Izzy Grassl (jr.), Lizzy Fortune (so.); Turner: Camila Hallmann (sr.), Daley Wislon (jr.); Whitewater: Catherine Yang (jr.), Allison Heckert (sr.).

Player of the Year – Ashlyn Oren (Edgerton).



No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment